The Institutes for Research, Innovation, and Scholarship (The IRIS) is a private educational, research, and scientific organization that seeks to create pathways for collaboration among Filipino researchers, educators, innovators, and scholars in science, technology, engineering, agro-fisheries, and mathematics.

The IRIS Digital Commons “Branding Philippine Excellence” is a stage for Partner Institutions to shine a bright light on their full spectrum of research, scholarship, and innovation work. The IRIS Digital Commons showcases the people, programs, experiences, and infrastructure that make Philippine research institutions and universities unique, and provide them platforms for international research partnerships and for the collaborative search for life-changing solutions.

The IRIS Scientific Board

  • Napoleon K. Juanillo Jr., Ph.D.
  • Carlos Primo C. David, Ph.D.
  • Eva Maria C. Cutiongco-dela Paz, Ph.D.
  • Isagani D. Padolina, Ph.D.
  • Raymond R. Tan, Ph.D.
  • Gonzalo C. Serafica, Ph.D.
  • Jinky B. Bornales, Ph.D.
  • Lawrence L. Ilag, Ph.D.

photo of IRIS Scientific Board

The IRIS Senior Advisory Board

  • National Scientist Angel C. Alcala, Ph.D.
  • Academician William G. Padolina, Ph.D.
  • University of the East President Ester A. Garcia, Ph.D.
  • Agriculture Secretary William D. Dar, Ph.D.
  • Secretary-General, PH Commission UNESCO Virginia A. Miralao, Ph.D

photo of IRIS Senior Advisory Board

The IRIS Digital Commons


Napoleon K. Juanillo Jr., Ph.D.

Managing Editor

Ralph Julius G. Bawalan, MSc

Chief Scientific Content Officer

Francis N. Baleta, Ph.D.

Technical Staff

Richard M. Nicolas
Rachel C. Robrigado